Students and families interested in learning about Summit Technology Academy and the school’s nationally recognized, career-focused programs are invited to attend the next open house of the year on January 9th, 2020.

In addition to showcasing Summit Technology Academy, the event will include information about the Missouri Innovation Campus (MIC) program, a partnership involving the Lee’s Summit R-7 School District, the University of Central Missouri and Metropolitan Community College as well as community organizations and business partners. Through this accelerated degree program, students are able to earn a bachelor’s degree just two years after graduating from high school. The MIC program also reduces student debt thanks to the accelerated degree opportunity and the MIC’s three-year paid internships with the metro area’s top companies.
Each event will begin with a classroom open house from 6 to 7:30 p.m. Teachers and current students will be available in their classrooms to answer questions about each course in the school’s five career pathways — engineering, human services and finance, arts and communication, computer science and health science.

An overview of Summit Technology Academy and early planners breakout session will take place from 6 to 6:30 p.m. in the event center. This session provides general information as well as tips to help middle-school students and high-school freshmen prepare to enroll in the program.

An accelerated early college program breakout session will be presented from 6:45 to 7:15 p.m. in the event center. This program will focus on the Missouri Innovation Campus program.

Summit Technology Academy, operated by the Lee’s Summit R-7 School District, is located on a shared campus with the University of Central Missouri-Lee’s Summit. The academy includes high-school juniors and seniors participating in a half-day program as an extension of their home high school. In addition to students from the Lee’s Summit School District, the academy accepts students from 31 public and private high schools within the following school districts: Belton, Blue Springs, Center, Grain Valley, Grandview, Harrisonville, Hickman Mills, Holden, Independence, Kansas City, Kingsville, Lone Jack, Midway R-1, Odessa, Pleasant Hill, Raymore-Peculiar and Raytown.

To learn more about the open house events and to RSVP for the MIC program presentation, visit this link.